DAWN MUSSELMAN INSPIRATIONAL SWIMMER 2022

The Pacific Northwest Association Local Masters Swimming Committee proudly presents the **2022 Dawn Musselman Inspirational Swimmer Award to**

Jim Lasersohn

Jim, you are an inspiration to the Orca Swim Team and to all of PNA. Mason Chuang, on behalf of the Orcas, says you admirably live up to this award's criteria:

- Being an inspiration to all PNA swimmers
- Willingly sharing information, training, or coaching tips
- Offering encouragement to other swimmers
- Exhibiting good sportsmanship always
- Showing a strong commitment to PNA Masters Swimming

Kathleen Morris was "... not sure how welcomed I would be by team Orca when I showed up to his "learn starts and flipturns" (2001), but Jim and the whole team were very welcoming and have always showed an attitude of inclusiveness." As Mason and Paul Ikeda noted, in addition to being an Orca member since the mid-90s, you have served in many positions on the Orca board. And "not only does he encourage others to swim, Jim attends numerous meets here in the PNW as well as internationally ...

"Most importantly, though, is his ongoing support of Fat Salmon, whether swimming or helping run the event. In 2017, Jim stepped up to take over the demanding Race Director role, modernizing the event and providing a home for its equipment."

In 2020, despite all your work already put into the event, Orca had to cancel Fat Salmon because of COVID-19. Even so, you "encouraged disappointed swimmers with an unofficial faux Fat Salmon, a creative yet safe swim, as we all adjusted to the pandemic. Without Jim's leadership, we would not have Fat Salmon today." Now in 2022 you continue working relentlessly to make the 22nd running of Fat Salmon a safe celebration at the hopeful end of the pandemic.

Jim, for your inspiration to the entire membership of the Pacific Northwest Association of Masters Swimmers by your example of good sportsmanship, encouragement, and commitment, the PNA is proud to recognize you as our Dawn Musselman Inspirational Swimmer for 2022.

Linda Chapman, President

Steve Peterson, Selection Committee Chair

