PNA Coach of the Year Award

PNA recognizes a coach annually for outstanding contributions to local Masters swimming programs. If you’d like to nominate a coach, submit either the nomination form (usually published in The WetSet) or a one page letter of support addressing any or all of the following selection criteria:

  • improvement or enhancement of an ongoing program or establishment of a new program
  • sustained service over a long period of time
  • contributions to PNA
  • commitment to PNA
  • willingness to share coaching skills and information
  • loyalty of team members
  • coaching accomplishments
  • and/or inspiration to others.

The recipients are:

2021 – [nominate your coach!]
2020 – Calvin Milbach, Thunderbird Aquatic Masters, Anacortes
2019 – Brad Hering, Stanwood-Camano YMCA, Stanwood
2018 – Pete Colella, North End Otters, Shoreline
2017 – Wendy Neely, Blue Wave Aquatics, Federal Way
2016 – April Cheadle, Bainbridge Aquatic Masters, Bainbridge Island
2015 – Paul Ikeda, Orca Swim Team, Seattle
2014 – Joel Dodds, Mukilteo YMCA, Mukilteo
2013 – April Cheadle, Bainbridge Aquatic Masters, Bainbridge Island
2012 – Becca Watson, Lake Washington Masters, Juanita
2011 – Ken Rice, West Coast Aquatic Masters, Mill Creek
2010 – Shannon Singer, Skagit Valley Masters, Mount Vernon
2009 – Lynn Wells, Aquatic Fanatics, Poulsbo
2008 – Mel Smith, Briggs Y Masters, Olympia
2007 – Robin O’Leary, North End Otters, Shoreline
2006 – Neil Romney, North Whidbey Masters, Oak Harbor
2005 – Michael McKinlay, Downtown/Bellevue Swim Team
2004 – Wendy and Malcolm Neely, Federal Way Masters (now Blue Wave Aquatics)